What does media mean to me? by Regina Lopez de Llergo

17.09.08

Media in my personal life

by Regina Lopez de Llergo

After reading a variety of works by renowned philosophers on media and its impact on my daily life, I have to say I appreciate the presence of media in my every day routine.

When I was a little girl I used to watch a lot of television but instead of paying attention during the actual show I’d pay attention to the commercials. Then I’d get into the shower or to brush my teeth and start making up TV ads for the products I had in my bathroom. Some people sing in the shower, I simply advertised my shampoo.

After I grew up a bit and developed a social conscience and decided that communication was the thing for me, I had to decide what is it about advertising that attracts me so much, and that is going to keep me interested for some time to come.

After pondering a lot about it, and asking around, listening to other people’s views of media, I discovered that there is no grey area for advertising; it is either black or white, people tend to love it and hate it at the same time, or this ambivalence is what ultimately hooked me for life.

I read Schirmacher, Schopenhauer and McLuhan, and they all say the exact same thing about media and its aesthetics and its usage. It all depends on the eye of the beholder as they say. Perception is what controls the way the “what” is going to be digested by the receiver, so if you can master psychology in a way that you can alter people’s perception to your own advantage, surely somebody will listen to what you have to say.

In history, whoever had the last word on a matter, was the person that held the power, and could decide for others, what to think, and what to feel and how to react to it. Great minds like Napoleon, Hitler, and Castro all infamous leaders, Gandhi, the Dalai Lama or even Bono from U2. These individuals know how to make everybody else hear what they had to say, so people listened.

If you voice has the power to affect change, the world is yours. You don’t have to know the truth about the universe, and you don’t have to lie about it. It really isn’t about the “what” as long as a lot of people follow you, the “what” isn’t really that important.

To have to power to affect the way people think is the greatest skill of all. The possibilities are infinite.

Great thinkers, politicians, philosophers and rock stars all relied on the same thing, their followers, and their fans. And fanaticism being the most brute and powerful collective force in this society, being able to control it and change it at will has to be the greatest responsibility and power source there is. That is why I want to study and master the art of advertising. It is a form of art, it’s a form of expression and I want to explore it because I want my voice to be heard.

Leave a comment

Filed under Applied Media Aesthetics, Students

Leave a Reply

